Covers

Okay, I’ll be honest here: I’m having a bit of writer’s/blogger’s block (again!) at the moment. I’ve been sitting here at my desk for roughly an hour and a half now, just hoping that the train of inspiration will allow me to board, but that is sadly not the case. She’s got a tight schedule apparently – can’t afford to waste precious time.

Oh well, I could always just get straight to my point, I guess..

Covers – as mentioned in my previous post, this form of music always interests me. I immediately gain respect for any artist who can come up with an amazing version of a popular tune.

Allow me to present yet another set of respectable musicians with respectable covers:

Birdy – Skinny Love

This cover of the indie folk song off Bon Iver’s debut For Emma, Forever Ago is completely, and utterly mesmerising. After hearing the first few piano-chords I was already hooked. The voice was what blew me away, however. Imagine how awed I was, to learn that the voice that belonged to the recording was barely 16 years old.   Jasmine van den Bogaerde, known by her stage name Birdy, learned piano at five, and began composing at seven. She is perhaps most known for winning the Open Mic UK music competition at age twelve. She released her debut album in November of 2011.

Listen here.

William Fitzsimmons – Heartless

I’d always assumed the Fray had come up with the perfect version of Kanye’s less-than-impressive Heartless. When I heard of Fitzsimmons’ however, I knew that I was not even close to right. William is an American singer-songwriter based in Illinois, but born and raised in Pennsylvania. When I wrote that the Fray had managed to establish a extremely intimate version of Heartless, I had no idea that the intimacy could be taken to a much deeper level. Fitzsimmons adds an array of beautiful guitar strums and piano chords that neither Fray nor Kanye would ever have thought of.

Listen here.

Ellie Goulding – Your Song

I’ve always admired Ellie Goulding – among my favourites are her songs ‘Lights’ and ‘The Writer’ – and upon hearing this cover, was delighted to discover that it was simply sensational. Ellie manages to remove the gentle playfulness the original had, and replace it with melancholic piano accompaniments and beautiful strings and cello. The song was released as the fifth single of her album Lights on November 12, 2010.  Shortly afterwards it entered the UK charts and managed to shoot up to place number two in only it’s third week, successfully becoming Goulding’s highest peaking single to date.

Listen here.

Willie Nelson – The Scientist

As I have never had any interest for country music whatsoever, I’d never bothered to check out Willie Nelson. After a quick Wikipedia-check here’s what I learned: Nelson released his first album in 1962, And Then I Wrote, and 50 years later managed to turn himself into an American Icon. I first learned of this cover through the Oracle (those familiar with the Coldplay Website will know what I mean) in late November of last year, and have since then played this song dozens of times on the Ipod. A terrific cover, again giving the song a whole new feel and sound. Forget the haunting piano-chord progression in the original – take that away, throw in some campfire guitar strums and you have yourself a very nice cover.

Listen here.

Anyway, this is all I have prepared for now. Thank you for reading, I hope you have as much fun listening to the songs as I did writing this post.

Cheers!

– Jonathan

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Covers

  1. Sammer_ says:

    Wow… First three songs are my favorit cover song’s too. Your taste in music fits my taste quite well 🙂

    • musicblog95 says:

      I would guess it does! Seems we’ll be able to learn a lot from one another! 🙂

      Yes – these are amazing covers… Definitely should have been in the original Top Ten post…

  2. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

  3. weetzdom says:

    Brilliant brilliant choices… and coincidentally I just heard a cover of a William Fitzsimmons song! Hahhaa…. these are my fav covers of 2010…
    http://wordsofweetzdom.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/my-favourite-covers-of-2010/

  4. Julie says:

    Nice post! Here’s another cover to check out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvFykWTI7C4 😀

  5. paulvinten says:

    Cheers for the like on my debut blog. Covers are something that I’m looking to discuss later on – IE when as a performer is it ok to cover a song or – is it always ok to cover a song?

    Thinking hat is well and truly on.

    Thanks again
    Paul

    • musicblog95 says:

      Sorry for the delayed reply. No problem! When is it okay.. Well, obviously as a starting point to gain popularity, I would guess. But one can’t dwell on covers forever, unless they really are something extremely unique…

Leave a Reply

Mixed Tape Masterpiece

an ode to the songs (and radio stations) that shaped my life

backtothemusic

time travelling through iTunes

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

Musically Diversified

Where all Music is treated equally.

Is this thing on?

Thoughts, reviews and news on emo, indie, hardcore and all thats good about music

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Read and Hear

Recommended listening to the music lover!

Paws Music

New music, all the time...

Keeping A Thought

Just some thoughts and musings from another introvert :)

groovealious

life is a soundtrack

The Sound of Flying Kiwi

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. It is never too late to be what you might have been.

EARGGH!

To struggle is futile! You cannot escape! The most uncanny music ever seen!

musicAlly

Anonymous. Real person. Sharer-of-good-music and feeling. Audiodigital connector of people.

Spinsmag

Spinning The Momentum Of Entertainment

